Website Committee 2015-16

The mission of the Website Committee is to create and maintain a resident website containing timely and useful information and to share aspects of our lives here. The idea for a resident website arose during a Residents Council retreat in the Spring of 2015.  The Residents Council formed a Committee consisting of Harriet Barnett, Sheila Darnborough, Eugene DuBow, Muriel Fox, and Sue Phillips, under Fran Kelly’s able leadership.  The committee met several times during the summer and early fall of 2015 to investigate what other Kendals were doing, discuss the purposes of such a website, and identify the major issues to be addressed.  As Fran faced additional responsibilities in the fall, she asked Caroline Persell if she would join and lead the committee.  She sent her the minutes of their meetings, summaries of what they had learned from corresponding with webmasters at other Kendals, and links to their websites.

The committee clearly identified the key issues to address, specifically:  a) Purposes of the resident Website, b) Content, i.e., what to put on the website and how to organize it so people can find it easily. c) Software (What Software, or Content Management System, to use. d) Design and Development, and who might help design the site and get the content onto it. e) Where to Host it (i.e., what set of computer servers to keep it on); and f) Our Domain Name. 

Two purposes of a KOH Resident Website emerged: a) providing current residents with timely and important information in a single place and b) sharing some of the vitality and creativity of resident life with interested people here and outside.

We investigated Software, Web Designers and Developers, and possible hosts before deciding what and who to use.   We are using a web design software called Squarespace that has some attractive templates into which we can cut and paste our content pretty easily, requiring limited amounts of code writing by a web developer and making it easy for us to add content and update it later. 

We found a capable web designer (Rebecca Litt) who helped with color choices, type styles, layouts, and other design issues.  We have also found a good web developer (Elliot Isaacson) who wrote what code we needed, found a way to include a "Residents Only" section, wrote the limited amounts of code required, and customized the Squarespace template as needed.  The Committee also brainstormed intensively about the content to include and how to organize it.

Version One of the resident website was presented to interested residents in the gathering room January 13, 2016.  Once live, its web address (or URL) will be:

Contributors to the Website

Website Committee Members

 Harriet Barnett (original committee)                                    Peter Bermas                                                                               Sheila Darnborough                                                                    Eugene DuBow                                                                        
 Muriel Fox                                                                                    Fran Kelly (first chair)                                                              
 Caroline Persell (chair and webmaster, 2015-16)                Sue Phillips                                                                                  
Bill Seligman


Horst Berger                                                                                 Sally Costa                                                                                     Gisa Indenbaum                                                                       Shirley Lobenthal                                                                      
Bert Pepper                                                                             Caroline Persell                                                                         Martin Smolin                                                      
Marian Weinberg                                                                       
Lynn Wildman


Suzanne Adel                                                                               Jane Beers                                                                                    
Peter Bermas                                                                         Dorothea Bone                                                                         Beverly Child                                                                               Sheila Darnborough                                                                   Peter J. Davies                                                                              
Gene DuBow                                                                               Muriel Fox                                                                                    
Gloria Cooper                                                                               Fran Kelly                                                                                    
Ann Lasusa                                                                                 Joan Levine                                                                                   Jan Myers                                                                                    
Joan Oltman                                                                           Bert Pepper
Caroline Persell                                                                           Sue Phillips                                                                                   Topsy Preus                                                                                  
Bob Sanders                                                                                 Lois Seulowitz                                                                           Katherine Sinclair                                                                      
Cobb Stewart                                                                             Catherine Trapasso                                                               Jackie Wilke                                                                            

Content Editors

Peter Bermas
Gene DuBow
Caroline Persell                                                                       Bill Seligman

Copy Editor

Pat Taylor

We would especially like to thank the dedicated news-gatherers, writers, and editors who produce the print version of Spotlight each week and much of the timely news that appears on this website.  They are:  Jane Beers, Peter Bermas, Doris Eder, Brigitte Cooke, Priscilla Holmgren, Claire Limmer, Peggy Pennell (chair), Bill Seligman, Marian Weinberg, and Twink Wood.  We also appreciate the editors, writers, and staff who produce Kendal View each month:  Horst Berger, Gloria Cooper, Deborah O'Keefe, Joan Oltman, Sue Phillips, Caroline Persell, Norman Sissman, Patricia Taylor, Hubie Wilke, and Jim Wood.  This website has been enormously enriched by their efforts.

Technical Help

We were very lucky to find two talented young web gurus:

Rebecca Litt helped enormously with web design issues on Squarespace, as well as being a beautiful artist herself.

Elliot Isaacson is a wizard at coding HTML, customizing Squarespace to do special things, and he plays the viola professionally. We never could have done it without them.

Squarespace designed a wonderfully user-friendly platform, provided numerous on-line help files and videos, and responsive personal help when contacted.

The book by Miko Coffey, Building Business Websites with Squarespace 7, Packt Publishing, Birmingham, England and Mumbai, India, 2015, was also extremely helpful for orienting us to Squarespace, even though we’re not a business.

Last edited 4/12/16